Customer Testimonials

The Ships Chandler IconThe Ships Chandler

646 Harbor Boulevard, Destin

5.0 60 reviews

  • Avatar PapaG ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I've fished for much of my 62 years and been in many tackle shops. This is the best one anywhere, by far, with the gear you need to fish HERE, and it is run and staffed by the most honest, hardworking, knowledgeable fishermen around. … More They all want to help me get better at fishing, and they have done just that. I bought a boat from SC, I keep a boat here, and these guys have done the maintenance and upgrades on three of my boats. Everything top notch. In this day and age, SC is truly a one of a kind experience. Don't miss it if you come to the Panhandle.
  • Avatar Nick Kirby ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    The guys at Ships Chandler are absolutely top notch. As a local Charter fishing business owner I’ve purchased multiple Yamaha outboard motors from Ships Chandler and I trust their mechanics for all our maintenance and repairs and will … More never purchase another motor from anyone else.
    The guys at Ships chandler from the owners, mechanics to front of house have on numerous occasions gone out of their way to assist in any way possible to keep us on the water and my business running.
    The service these guys provide is absolutely unbeatable.
  • Avatar Black Cat Outdoors (Black Cat Fishing) ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Talk about decent prices and a selection of some different offerings compared to all other tackle shops in the area. Bass Pro has ton of stuff, but a vast majority of it stays on the shelves as it is mostly useless "people catching" … More junk.
    The Ship's Chandler specializes in the boat fisherman and even has a shop in the back to maintain or repair your vessels! The rod selections are top notch usable equipment and the tackle sold here is all usable stuff! The prices vary, but you can find great deals if you have a keen eye! Come by and take a peek inside because the windows do not do this place justice!
  • Avatar Nick Segner ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Stripped a small screw while working on my outboard. Called up and spoke with mac who was able to help me find the part I needed and luckily enough they had it in stock. Showed up and he still took the time to talk with me and help troubleshoot … More my issue even though I was only buying a $2 part.
    Very knowledgeable and helpful thanks.
  • Avatar Scott Brown ★★★★★ a month ago
    Top knotch dealership with excellent knowledge and even better customer service. Ask for Peter he will get you taken care of!
  • Avatar Calob Johnston ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    These guys went above and beyond to get us set up! Helped us put sharks on the beach.
  • Avatar Black Cat Outdoors ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Talk about decent prices and a selection of some different offerings compared to all other tackle shops in the area. Bass Pro has ton of stuff, but a vast majority of it stays on the shelves as it is mostly useless "people catching" … More junk.
    The Ship's Chandler specializes in the boat fisherman and even has a shop in the back to maintain or repair your vessels! The rod selections are top notch usable equipment and the tackle sold here is all usable stuff! The prices vary, but you can find great deals if you have a keen eye! Come by and take a peek inside because the windows do not do this place justice!
  • Avatar Patrick Wilson ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great bot dealership and Yamaha service center.The Wright’s are top notch
  • Avatar John Estrada ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Great customer service!
  • Avatar Robbie Long ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Great experience they helped me with what I needed and great prices! Will always be coming back! Thank you guys for the great service!
  • Avatar Capt Ken ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Good supply of local fishing needs
  • Avatar Franklin Fletcher ★★★★ 10 months ago
    Super nice folks. Competitive price and kept their word about everything. They put us up overnight in our RV parked in their parking lot. Great experience overall. The guy who went on our test drive could have been a lot more knowledgeable. … More Overall, the experience has been great so far and the boat is great too.
  • Avatar Admin Phoenix ★★★★★ a year ago
    The Ships Chandler is a great local business, always friendly, always helpful and knowledgeable. Bought a Hewes Redfisher from them in 2007, 13 years later they still help me if I have any problems with it, now that's great service. … More I buy a lot of my tackle there too, great selection.
  • Avatar Bill Me ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great place for high quality fishing tackle for inshore and offshore. They have Baitmaster frozen baits that in my experience are the best offshore frozen baits you can buy. They carry Pathfinder and Jupiter boats as well as other lines. … More All top quality. Ice people too.
  • Avatar Dave Yelverton ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great store, great folks. The tackle shop has a wonderful assortment of hard to find stuff and lots of premium gear. Boat parts inventory is great as well. Highly recommend!
  • Avatar B Wallis ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent place to buy fishing tackle for saltwater fishing they have excellent choices in all your needs I had them send off a fishing rod to be repaired by Shimano.
    I have also had them do small engine repair on my Yamaha 90 horsepower
    … More motor and a trim motor repair replace. Being extremely happy with all their services. Much better pricing than legendary Marina.
  • Avatar Willie Sanders ★★★★★ a year ago
    Polite and courteous, NO dock to back into
  • Avatar Michelle Schoen ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    AMAZING! Had a SPECTACULAR fishing trip! Chris and his son Caden were our crew!!! They were super fantastic! Very knowledgeable and helpful! We caught lots of fish!🐟 Thanks to Peter Wright for getting us set up for the time and day we … More wanted! Friendly staff and very accommodating!! Highly recommend this fishing charter!!! We will definitely be repeat customers!!!😊😊😊
  • Avatar LW Burroughs ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    When customer service is Priority #1 then look no further than Peter Wright Sr/Jr. and their Ships Chandler Marina Team. I am a professional angler and even when I was just an avid recreational angler, the team at Ships Chandler always … More has gone the extra mile to ensure my boating and fishing tackle needs are met in an ultra timely manner. There has been several instances where my marine service needs were addressed and resolved on the spot, rather than what would normally take weeks, are resolved within just a day with their knowledgeable staff.The staff is diverse in culture, knowledge and background as well as always willing to help anyone walking into the front door. In this world of large franchise corporate Marine Stores, the Ships Chandler is a true throwback to a time of a One Stop Marine and Tackle Family Run business where customers are valued and urged to comeback and just talk boating and fishing.Quite honestly, I will always make the Ships Chandler my first and only choice when it comes to my Marine and Fishing needs. Thanks again for over a decade of Friendship and Professional Marine Service!!!Capt LW Burroughs
  • Avatar Matthew Atkins ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    As a Destin local and angler, this is the best place hands down. Great prices and selection, but the real difference is the knowledge and patience of the staff. And if they don't have it in stock, they'll get it!
  • Avatar Tom Hargrove ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great shop.......I have had boats most all my life from Colorado to the southeast. More times than not, the story was not always good when dealing with repair shops. I have been dealing with The Ships Chandler for many years now and … More they have always done top notch work for me. It is a family business with pride and the expertise to do the job correctly. From motors to boat accessories, pricing is always fair. Imagine, a boat mechanic technician that knows what he is doing!!!! Just got the boats trim tabs repaired and it now rides like a new boat. Quick diagnostics and repair. Thanks. Owning an automotive tire and repair shop in Georgia that does 100 plus vehicles per day, I feel that I understand customer service and they meet and exceed all the expectations. And by the way, all the fishing tackle you need is there. If you take your boat anywhere else, you need to change. Get it fixed right the first time at The Ships Chandler................... Tom Hargrove
  • Avatar John Alexander ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Booked a trip with Lionel James.... he is hands down the best captain in the Destin area. I have been with many other guides and he simply outfishes them all. When we went with him it was evident the second we stepped on the boat that he … More had a great deal of passion for the sport of fishing. We were his number one priority during the trip. I highly recommend Capt. Lionel for a day on the water.
  • Avatar Dennis Minnick ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Great Local Company. Great service, excellent prices , knowledgeable.
  • Avatar John Hagler ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Great place to buy a boat or get it rigged for whatever fishing you are wanting to do. The staff are very knowledgeable on local fishing and will get you set up to catch fish. They also have boat slips for rent that are first come first … More serve.
  • Avatar david perry ★★★★★ a year ago
    Just wonderful
  • Avatar Wayne Burnette ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Extremely helpful. Timely in their responses and turn around on fixing equipment
  • Avatar Drew Brant ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Peter and his guys do a great job of taking care of all your needs!! I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a tackle and boat repair shop.
  • Avatar John Estrada ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Great customer service!
  • Avatar Jack Holmes ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    The experience I have had at Ships Chandler has been nothing short of fantastic. I've purchased several boats over the years from other dealers, and I always left feeling like I was just another number to them. That's not the … More case with Ships Chandler. I flew in from Cincinnati Ohio to purchase a boat,and I left their place feeling like I made life long friends. Thanks for being a solid family owned business..
  • Avatar JD L ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Let me tell you why the boys at the ship chandler are the best around. Not only do they always give the cheapest quote over the phone, both times I’ve had my boat in the shop with them they’ve been cheaper than the original quote! … More So, recap, they beat all the competition in destin, navarre, and FWB, and then when the work is done they even beat their own price and saved me money! However, most importantly, the staf is the most friendly around, and the work and craftsmanship is fantastic. Five stars for them all! Thanks Pete Sr and crew!
  • Avatar Justin Brantley ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great guys that can help you with any boat or tackle needs.
  • Avatar Jeff Greene ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great place, knowledgeable, takes unlimited time to help you understand gear, local fishing. Customers treated and greater like good family.
  • Avatar Shane O'Neal ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great service
  • Avatar Jeremiah Mayville ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I can’t say enough good things about these guys. The owner personally took time out of his busy day to answer all of my questions. These guys are just awesome. If you are looking for a boat and want to get a fair deal, backed with unmatched … More customer support, call them now! My boat is 8 years old and they treated me with the same respect and enthusiasm as if I was buying a new one. Took care of all of my issues and didn’t make a dime. Just great people to do business with!
  • Avatar Luke Riley ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    If you’ve never been on a guided fishing trip, the odds are that you’ll have a near five star experience with most guides. If you have been on a few charters, you’ll undoubtedly begin to notice differences in the services, and your … More ratings will begin to vary. I have been on numerous charters up and down the east coast fishing similar spots and species. What makes this service stand out from the rest? It’s Lionel James! I have never once fished with a captain so invested with the client’s satisfaction and success in catching fish as Captain Lionel. He still thoroughly enjoys this wonderful sport after so much time guiding others. Many captains seem to be distracted with upcoming business opportunities, boat mechanics, and the sort, but Lionel James makes your trip is his number one concern. If your first charter is with this service, don’t take that kind of singular experience for granted! When you leave the boat, you feel like you were out fishing with a friend. I can’t say that about any other charter. All this while, Lionel James manages an exceptional display of professionalism on and off the boat. I wish there were a sixth star, because Captain Lionel goes above and beyond what he asks for these trips. Now stop reading this review and get your trip booked before someone else gets your day!
  • Avatar Andy Lamantia ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great company. Always treats me right. Pete is on point
  • Avatar Julia Niedermeyer ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Great place . Owner and staff are very friendly , they make you feel like family.
  • Avatar Cory Hale ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Karl Klaudi ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar freddy castro ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    The best place
  • Avatar david Batchelor ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Scott Burke ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Hank Morphis ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar aaron smith ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Get Bent custom rods ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Chase Lake ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Jeffrey Jones ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Mac & Donny worked on my boat today with me and were excellent. Fixed the problem quickly. I would strongly recommend them.Thanks guys,Jeff
  • Avatar Chris Moore ★★★★★ a year ago
    Pete and his team saved our holiday weekend fishing plans with a quick replacement of the live well pump. I've done business with the Ships Chandler for more than 10 years and have always received customer service that exceeded expectations. … More Thanks to this super team!
  • Avatar Emerald Coast Marine ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Todd Tudor ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Tracy Thornton ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Always Learning ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Awesome service! Cruising through Destin and had a cooling issue on my little yamaha engine. My water pump change didn't fix it and I was scratching my head. Mac advised me and helped me get the engine off the boat and into the shop. … More They promptly diagnosed as faulty pump housing, sourced the part from across town and had the engine back in the boat by noonish. Changed plugs and thermostat too! I am one happy camper.
  • Avatar Carrie Laird ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Pretty cool place. I was a little bummed the dogs weren't there.
  • Avatar Phillip Wyrick ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar michael bell ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Great place to go
  • Avatar Patrick Wilson ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great bot dealership and Yamaha service center.The Wright’s are top notch
  • Avatar Anna Baranova ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Great Part Department been everywhere in Destin and Fort Walton Beach looking for a part that no carries in stock found it at Ship Chandler This will be my new one stop shop for my Marine Repair Business